Common questions about Lake Powell
- It is illegal to possess or move a quagga mussel in the state.
- It is illegal to transport water out of Lake Powell.
- Those people with boats are required to stop at inspection stations when open and operating. These include the inspection areas near the ramps at Lake Powell, but also any inspection stations located along Utah's highways.
- Upon receiving an inspection at Lake Powell, boats will receive a plastic seal and the boat owner is given a receipt of inspection/decontamination. It is illegal to remove a seal from a boat prior to the boat meeting the required dry time (unless necessary for maintenance). We ask that boaters leave the seals on their boats for presentation to a technician at your next destination.
Utah Division of Wildlife Resources (UDWR) technicians work on the ramps most daylight hours to assist boaters in complying with state law and to ensure that aquatic invasive species (AIS) are not transported out of the reservoir. Technicians help boaters drain water from their vessels and inspect for attached mussels. Technicians apply orange wire seals to the boat and trailer and give the boat owner a receipt that indicates the boat has been fully inspected. Presenting the receipt at the next waterbody visited will expedite entrance.
Be sure your boat is clean, drained and dry. The UDWR is only conducting exit inspections at Lake Powell. Although Lake Powell is infested with quagga mussels, it is still important to keep the water free from other aquatic invasive species. The National Park Service (NPS) will educate each boater on Lake Powell laws and regulations upon entering the park and before launching.
- Make sure watercraft is clean of mud, plants and animals.
- Stop for watercraft inspection at the inspection station if it is open.
- Drain all water from engine and interior compartments. A technician will assist you if the inspection station is open. Otherwise, this is your legal responsibility to do before leaving Lake Powell.
- Transport your boat with all of your drain plugs removed.
You have two options:
1Wait a required dry time and self-certify at your next destination that your boat has met the dry time.
- If your boat has ballast tanks, an inboard motor, or other raw water systems (A/C, shower), the required dry time is always 30 days.
- If your boat does not have any of the above systems, the dry times are:
- 7 days in June–August
- 18 days in September–November, March–May
- 30 days in December–February
2Have your boat professionally decontaminated using 140°F water
Visit www.STDoftheSea.com to find a decontamination station and please call ahead to make an appointment.
Due to the large number of boats at Lake Powell, it is impossible for the UDWR to offer decontaminations to every exiting boat. Our efforts focus on boats that will be launched in Utah before meeting the required dry time for the season. If you plan to launch your boat before meeting the dry time, please let our technicians on the ramp know and we will do our best to provide a decontamination on-site. Boaters with watercraft larger than wakeboard boats or watercraft with attached mussels, please see #8 below for more information.
If you plan to launch before being able to meet the required dry time, the best option is to have your boat decontaminated at Lake Powell. If this is not possible, visit www.STDoftheSea.com and contact a decontamination station on your route of travel to make an appointment for a decontamination. The third option is to find the nearest decontamination to your residence and make an appointment for a decontamination prior to your next launch. The last option is to call ahead to your next launch destination and make an appointment to have your boat decontaminated immediately prior to launch. NOTE: sometimes this option is not possible (i.e. if you plan to launch very early in the morning before technicians will be there), and therefore, the first three options should be attempted first.
No, UDWR provides free decontaminations. However, due to the time and personnel required to thoroughly decontaminate these boats, owners of the following boats will be directed to and have to pay a private business or other entity for a decontamination:
- Boats larger than wakeboard boats that will not be able to meet the 30- day dry time requirement before next launch
- Any boat with attached mussels
- They impact fisheries by removing large amounts of beneficial plankton from the water, making this important food source unavailable to other aquatic organisms. This impacts the entire food chain all they way up to top fish predator, like bass.
- They pollute shorelines and ruin beaches by covering them with their sharp shells. The shells eventually decompose, releasing a foul odor.
- They damage boats and equipment by using their byssal threads to attach to these areas. They are famous for clogging engine intakes on boat motors, causing a great deal of damage, and sometimes even ruining motors.
- They clog water delivery pipes, resulting in millions of dollars in extra maintenance costs that eventually are passed on to taxpayers.
If you have more questions, please feel free to call our AIS Interdiction Specialists at Lake Powell:
Wahweap/Stateline/Antelope Point areas: 435-592-9723
Bullfrog/Halls Crossing areas: 435-299-9562