If you and your watercraft are boating at any Utah waterbody — including Lake Powell and other interstate waters — here are a few things to keep in mind.
Frequently asked questions:
What are the requirements for Utah residents beginning July 1, 2023?
Follow these steps to meet the requirements:
- Register your vessel with the Utah Division of Motor Vehicles. You will need your bow number to complete your Utah resident AIS vessel enrollment (see step 3).
- Take the free mussel-aware boater course. This course is designed to educate boaters about quagga mussels, their impacts and relevant aquatic invasive species laws in Utah. (You must take this course before enrolling your vessel; please note your “Customer ID” information upon completion.)
- Using your Customer ID, complete the AIS vessel enrollment program form and pay the $20 Utah resident boater fee (good for the current calendar year).
- You will receive a current-year Utah AIS vessel enrollment program decal in the mail. Please see the instructions included with the decal to affix it correctly to your boat.
- When boating anywhere in Utah, make sure that a printed copy of your AIS vessel enrollment certification is displayed on the dash of your towing vehicle, and that you have a current-year Utah AIS decal affixed to your boat.
Note: These steps must be completed prior to launching your vessel in Utah.
Do I need to complete the mussel-aware boater education course and pay the AIS vessel enrollment program fee to use my SUP, kayak, canoe, etc.?
No, non-motorized vessels are not subject to these requirements, but users of non-motorized watercraft are still required to self-certify that they’ve effectively cleaned, drained (if applicable) and dried their vessel before launching in a Utah waterbody.
In general, owners of vessels that would otherwise be required to register in the state of Utah are subject to the mussel-aware boater education course and AIS vessel enrollment fee requirements.
Why do I have to pay the AIS vessel enrollment fee and take a mussel-aware boater course through the DWR now? I used to be able to pay the AIS fee through the DMV and be done.
Prior to June 30, 2023, Utah residents paid the AIS vessel enrollment fee through their DMV registration process. This is no longer the case.
A lot of new laws were passed during the 2023 Utah legislative session, and those boating in Utah this summer should know about some new requirements that take effect July 1: SB112 Aquatic Invasive Species Amendments
This bill made a few administrative updates to boating fees in Utah. Previously, boaters could pay their boat registration fee and their aquatic invasive species fee in the same payment and through the same process. However, in an effort to address fee-collection issues, this new legislation will require boat owners to pay their boat registration fee through the Utah Division of Motor Vehicles and then to separately pay the aquatic invasive species fee on the DWR website, resulting in two separate proof-of-completion stickers.
As of July 1, Utah resident motorized boaters are required to take the mussel-aware boater course and pay the $20 aquatic invasive species fee as part of their AIS vessel enrollment.
The aquatic invasive species funds are used to help prevent quagga mussels from spreading from Lake Powell and other states to other Utah waterbodies.
This new legislation requires all boaters — both residents of Utah and non-residents — to take the annual mussel-aware boater education course. Previously, the education course was only required for non-resident boaters.
When will I receive my AIS decal and where do I place it on my vessel?
Your current-year AIS decal will be mailed to the address you provide at the time of AIS vessel enrollment and payment, and you will receive it within 10 business days. The following instructions for decal placement will be included:
I registered my boat with the Utah Division of Motor Vehicles prior to June 30, 2023. Do I still need to take the course and pay an additional AIS enrollment fee in order to launch my vessel after July 1?
No, you will not have to pay an additional $20 fee if you have already paid for AIS vessel enrollment through the DMV prior to June 30.
However, you are required to take the mandatory mussel-aware boater course and show the following proof of completion:
- Complete the mussel-aware boater course and print out your certification for the year (without enrolling your boat in the AIS vessel enrollment program). A printed copy of the mussel-aware boater course completion certificate must be displayed on your vehicle windshield or dash when launching a boat at Utah’s reservoirs.
- On your vessel, keep another copy of your mussel-aware boater course certificate — or save an image of the course completion certificate on your mobile device.
- Note: You will not receive a 2023 AIS decal; you are legal to launch without one as long as you have proof that your boat registration was completed prior to June 30, 2023.
Will I be able to enroll my boat and pay the fees for multiple vessels?
Yes. However, a separate $20 AIS vessel enrollment program fee is required for each vessel. Each vessel must display a current-year AIS vessel enrollment decal, which will be mailed to you with instructions for placement.
When I filled out the AIS vessel enrollment, I entered my bow number incorrectly or some other information was wrong when I enrolled my boat. How do I get it corrected?
Please email your questions/correction information to email@example.com and a member of our AIS group can assist you. Make sure to include a phone number in addition to your email address for a prompt reply.
Does this apply to nonresidents?
How long is the certificate from the online education course valid?
The education certificate is valid for the calendar year (expires December 31 of the year taken).
How long is the payment receipt valid?
Payment for a Utah-registered vessel is good for the current calendar year (expires December 31 of the year payment is made).
I took the course and paid my AIS vessel enrollment fee, but my current-year AIS decal hasn’t arrived in the mail yet. Can I launch?
Will I still need to self-certify that my motorized boat has met the decontamination requirements prior to launching?
Completion of the mussel-aware boater education course and displaying the AIS vessel enrollment program certificate on the dash of the launch vehicle — and either saved to the boater’s phone or kept on the boat — satisfies the self-certification requirement. You must also affix the current-year Utah AIS decal to the bow of your vessel.
The decontamination requirements are listed here.
To expedite your boating trip:
- Upon mussel-aware boater course completion and AIS vessel enrollment with payment, boat owners should print out two copies of their AIS program enrollment program certificate. As a backup, we recommend also saving a copy to your mobile device.
- Place one copy of the certificate on the dash of your launch vehicle to show proof of AIS vessel enrollment completion.
- Affix your current-year Utah AIS vessel enrollment program decal to your vessel (placement instructions are provided with the decal).
- If you have not received your current-year Utah AIS decal in the mail when you launch, a printed copy of your AIS vessel enrollment certificate must be present on your boat at all times. (A printed certificate or image saved to your mobile device meets this requirement.)
Save time: By printing out the certificate for your vehicle dash, putting one in your boat and saving it to your phone, you will expedite your entrance and exit to the state.
What if I launch outside of Utah on an interstate water like Bear Lake, Flaming Gorge Reservoir or Lake Powell?
If your boat is used within Utah at any point — including on an interstate water — you must comply with the education and fee requirements.
Where can I pay the fee for a Utah-registered boat?
You first have to complete the mussel-aware boater education course before enrolling your motorized vessel and paying the fee. After completing the course, you will have the option to enter the vessel enrollment program and payment portal where you pay a $20 fee. If you have already taken the online education course and have your customer ID handy, you can go directly to the payment portal.
What is the QR code on my certificate for?
The QR code on your vessel enrollment completion certificate has your boat type and bow number embedded in it. Rather than our watercraft inspection staff having to ask you this information and enter it manually into our data collection system every time you launch, with the QR code they have the ability to quickly scan the code on your certificate to collect this information and get you on the water faster.
What if there are multiple owners of a boat? Who is responsible for paying the fee?
The person who was responsible for registering the boat with the Utah DMV is also responsible for paying the $20 AIS vessel enrollment program fee associated with that boat’s use in Utah.
What if I paid the fee and received the certificate, but want to let someone use my boat without me?
A current-year Utah AIS decal — or a copy of the AIS vessel enrollment certificate — should remain with the boat at all times to show proof of meeting the enrollment and payment requirements. In addition, any user of the boat also needs to place a copy of this AIS vessel enrollment certificate on the dash of the launch vehicle.
In other words, if the AIS enrolled vessel has multiple users, each user will need to have a printed copy of the current-year enrollment certificate visible on the dash or windshield of their launch vehicle in order to meet the launch requirements.
I own a boat that is slipped/moored at Lake Powell, but in an Arizona marina. Do I need to complete the online course and pay the Utah resident AIS vessel enrollment fee for my boat?
If your boat is used anywhere within the state of Utah, you must complete the Utah mussel-aware boater course and pay Utah’s AIS vessel enrollment fee, regardless of where the boat is kept. That means that if your boat is stored at Wahweap or Antelope Point marinas in Arizona, these requirements will pertain to you as soon as your boat crosses into Utah on the water.
Note: You may be eligible for the Lake Powell Local Boater Program, which may expedite your travel in and around Lake Powell.