Questions for Nonresident Education & Payment Programs
Starting July 1, 2020, all motorized boats used in Utah waters that are not currently registered in Utah will be subject to a new $20 fee. This fee must be paid prior to use in Utah and can be paid online. The fee will help fund DWR's Aquatic Invasive Species Program, and more specifically, the watercraft inspection program.
In addition, owners of these boats will be required to complete an online education course before they are able to pay the fee mentioned above. This course is designed to educate the boater on quagga mussels, their impacts, and relevant Aquatic Invasive Species laws in Utah.
Both the $20 fee and mandatory online education will be required of owners of boats not currently registered in the state of Utah, but that will be used within Utah.
Non-motorized vessels are not subject to these requirements, but users of those vessels are still required to self-certify before launching their vessel. In general, owners of those vessels that would otherwise be required to register in the state of Utah would be subject to these new requirements.
Yes, the payment/registration portal will allow for the registration of multiple vessels at one time. However, a separate $20 fee will be required for each vessel.
Owners of boats registered in the state of Utah already pay a fee as part of their registration process.
These requirements go into effect July 1, 2020.
The education certificate is valid for the calendar year (expires December 31st of the year taken).
Payment for a non-Utah registered vessel is good for one year from date of issue. Think of this as the same as a car registration.
Completion of the online education course and the display of the completion certificate on the dash of the launch vehicle, saved in the boater's phone or kept on the boat satisfies the self-certification requirement. The self-certification requirements are listed here.
Upon course completion and payment, boat owners will be able to print out a certificate and will be required to place it on the dash of their launch vehicle to show proof of completion. They will also be required to retain a copy of the certificate on their boat at all times, and will have the option to print out a second copy or save the certificate to their phone to comply. By printing out the certificate for your vehicle dash, putting one in your boat, and saving it to your phone, you will expedite your entrance and exit to the state.
If the boat is used within Utah at any point, including on an interstate water, the boater must comply with the education and fee requirements.
You first have to complete the online education course before being able to pay the fee. After completing the course, you will have the option to enter the registration portal where you can pay. If you have already taken the online education course and have your customer ID handy, you can go directly to the payment portal. Alternatively, you will be able to pay in person at one of the DWR regional offices in the near future.
The QR code on your completion certificate has your boat type and bow number embedded in it. Rather than our watercraft inspection staff having to ask you this information and enter it manually into our data collection system every time you launch, they will now have the ability to quickly scan the code on your certificate to collect this information and get you on the water faster. This is a tool that will become used more widely in the 2021 boating season.
The person who was responsible for registering the boat in the state where it is registered is also responsible for paying the $20 fee associated with that boat's use in Utah.
A copy of the certificate obtained after completing the online course and paying the fee should remain with the boat at all times. In addition, the user of the boat also needs to place a copy of this certificate on the dash of the launch vehicle.
If the boat is used anywhere within the state of Utah, the boat owner must complete the course and pay the fee, regardless of where the boat is kept. That means that if your boat is stored at Wahweap or Antelope Point Marinas, these requirements will pertain to you as soon as your boat crosses into Utah on the water.